5 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2020 4:52 AM by Josh Dominick

Forecasting Agent FTEs in Tableau

Nawfal Mahmood

Hello awesome people,

I was wondering if anyone has an idea of Tableau capability when it comes to, forecasting agents FTE in Tableau using the Erlang equation (for contact center staffing). I am quite new to Tableau and the role I am doing as well (Workforce Analyst). I am hoping I can build the Forecast FTE in Tableau as I have the data streamed to it, rather than having the data and the dashboard in Tableau and keep using the excel sheet template for the forecast FTE.

is there any available way could potentially give closer results to the Erlang outputs If Tableau is not capable of doing agent forecasting utilizing the Erlang equation?

Here is the link for the Erlang equation: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erlang_(unit)

If anyone could guide through that I would be most grateful and if not I appreciate the time you took to read my question!

Thank you once again!

• 1. Re: Forecasting Agent FTEs in Tableau
          Don Wise

Hello,

Personally I'd love to see someone take this on, and I'd do it myself if my plate wasn't full already.  No, I haven't seen anyone else do what you're asking for on the Forums.  What you could do though is follow along with some of the available MS-Excel examples that are available online and reverse engineer those to meet your needs.  Here's an example: Calculate Call Center Staffing with Excel (Erlang formula)   or here  Erlang C Calculator Excel – Including Shrinkage  

There are some related posts (not solved) here: tableau erlang-c site:community.tableau.com

Hope it helps.  Best, Don

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Forecasting Agent FTEs in Tableau
            Peter Fakan

Hi Nawfal,

Which of the Erlang formula are you attempting to replicate ?

It appears relative enough, for example the offered traffic formula inside Tableau would be;

E=\lambda h

//Erlang (E)