7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2020 12:13 PM by Jonathan Drummey

Merge Headcount & Terminations data

Sandeep Varma

Hi,

I am new to Prep and I have Headcount & Terminations data in a separate data-set and need to combine to get Attrition Rate & Terminations Rate.

And the challenges is the most of the columns are different (Attached 2 data-sets) and user want to do reporting on comparing both Headcount vs Terminations, any ideas how to union these datasets by creating a flag for each data set? And monthly when I run the flow the Output should update with timestamps along with Flag with the excel file?

Needs output like this:

• 1. Re: Merge Headcount & Terminations data
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi,

I looked at your data and I can't tell what uniquely identifies an employee in the data so I can't give you an exact answer on how to do this. It's also not clear to me whether the sample employee is being hired multiple times or not, and if so how to identify that in the data. Also the definition of the Numerator and Denominator isn't clear.

In any case the key is that the month you want to show for headcount doesn't actually exist in the data. For example if someone his hired on 1994-01-01 and terminated on 1997-06-12 then they need to show up for all the intervening months, and if nobody was hired or terminated in a given month that month doesn't exist in the data so we need to pad that in.

These instructions assume that a given employee isn't hired multiple times, if that happens then there would need to be a modification (which would depend on how that is identified in the data):

- Create a table of Months up until some point far in the future.

- Connect to that table of Months and add a filter for Month <= DATETRUNC('month', TODAY()).

- Connect to the headcount data and create a calculated field for the Hire Month.