6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2019 5:43 PM by Budi Lubis

Blurriness of exports

Charles Dean

Hello Community

I am relatively new to tableau. I appreciate the software for its complexity; which serves as its power.

However there are some very severe drawbacks to using it:

The software has no robust way of exporting high quality images simply. I Have doubled resolutions; switched off compression in Word; exported as pdf, png, tiff. Clients complain about the quality of images. This is data viz 101.

Matlab, Excel, R; even Python all have basic export functions. Why make it so complicated?

Assistance please.

• 1. Re: Blurriness of exports
          Budi Lubis

Hi Charles -

How did you export your image?

Export Views and Workbooks - Tableau

• 2. Re: Blurriness of exports
            Charles Dean

save to tableau public online and then save as png or pdf

frnakly tableau is just horrible to work with for exports. i spend more time resizing fonts and components to account for the fact that what appears in the software does not appear in the export. parts of labels and so on disappear. a size that fits perfectly in the dashboard then just gets cut randomly from the export. literally hours wasted.

• 3. Re: Blurriness of exports
              Budi Lubis

Do you have license to Tableau desktop?  You can export from desktop and the quality is pretty high.

• 4. Re: Blurriness of exports
                Charles Dean

I have been using tableau public and have now downloaded the free trial of tableau desktop.

I still have the same problem. I have tried:

- exporting as .emf and bringing into paintbrush to save as tiff

- saving as pdf and then converting to tiff