6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2019 3:42 AM by Erik Wempa

Was anybody else seriously disappointed this year?

Erik Wempa

I'm not a newbie to this conference, nor am I an "every year" guy, but this was the third Tableau conference I attended and the first time I've ever come back afterwards to my company recommending that we NOT send people next year.

For the record:  I'm not suggesting that the content is bad (it's always stellar) or that Tableau doesn't put enough into this conference (it's obvious they sink a lot of time, energy and money into making this the best conference they can).  And the opening night reception was pleasant enough.  But this year really paled in comparison to the other two I attended (Seattle 2014 and Las Vegas 2017).

My main gripes:

1. Hands-on trainings were WRECKED by the network/PC issues.  Some of our company's attendees did a pay-extra session on Tuesday and were refunded money because the network was not useable at any point.  Furthermore, my first full day of the conference was back-to-back hands-on trainings that consisted of: 1) The first 45 minutes bogged down with network issues, only for the network to finally become stable and forcing the rest of us to play "catch-up."  2) Two hours of watching the instructors demo stuff, because the side of the room where I was sitting never was able to get the course to launch on our machines.  Four hours of hands-on training reduced to 75 minutes of actual work.  Simply unacceptable.

2. Keynote speakers were a step down from previous years.

3. The first full day of the conference, I was among the small group of early birds who entered the data village at 7:00 on the dot.  I finished up eating at 7:15, only to find that most coffee stations were completely out.  I had to walk probably 300 yards just to find a station that still had some.

4. The food was a step back this year.  Seemed mostly of the low-budget heat-and-eat variety.