4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2019 7:05 AM by Bret Beatty

How to see a data source id by feeding the datasource name

Bret Beatty

Hello,

I am working in Tableau Server Client and I'd love to program a datasource refresh in Python. I've been banging my head against my desk trying to get it to work. How am I supposed to determine the datasource_id?

• 1. Re: How to see a data source id by feeding the datasource name
          Subodh Gupta

Hi,

If you are looking to refresh a single data source by passing its name, you need something like:

request_option = TSC.RequestOptions()

request_option.filter.add(TSC.RequestOptions.Field.Name,TSC.RequestOptions.Operator.Equals,<name>)

followed by something like:

server.datasources.get(req_option)

• 2. Re: How to see a data source id by feeding the datasource name
            Bret Beatty

I’m not getting an error, but I’m still a bit lost. I’m fairly new to Python. I did what you recommended,

with server.auth.sign_in(tableau_auth):

request_option.filter.add(TSC.Filter(TSC.RequestOptions.Field.Name,TSC.RequestOptions.Operator.Equals,'ACDC_avature'))

server.datasources.get(request_option)

But now I’m a bit lost as to what to do next. It is returning the below, which I have no idea what it means.

([<tableauserverclient.models.datasource_item.DatasourceItem object at 0x0000023122C580F0>],

<tableauserverclient.models.pagination_item.PaginationItem object at 0x0000023122C58080>)

I wanted to be able to pass the datasource name and then have it return the datasource ID so when I run the refresh I can do get_by_id().

• 3. Re: How to see a data source id by feeding the datasource name
              Subodh Gupta

Hi,

Barely a novice myself