13 Replies Latest reply on Oct 7, 2019 12:34 PM by Soumitra Godbole

How to visualize average concurrent events per day

Federica Calanca

Hello everyone,
      I am fairly new to Tableau and the task I've been assigned is causing me some headaches...
      I have a data base of events, each with a given "start_date" and "end_date", in the format < DD/MM/YYYY hh:mm:ss > and I would like to visualize them per day (ideally horizontally, with a bar as long as their duration) and be able to tell which is the average number, each day, of concurrent events.

I really don't know where to start... I read a couple of related topics, but felt they didn't suit my case. Any help/documentation/reference would be more than appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: How to visualize average concurrent events per day
          Jim Dehner

Good morning

this is what is referred to as the 2 date problem

the way to address the issue is with a date scaffold - it is just another file with a sequential list of all the dates in the range of your data - you Cartesian join it with the base data and then count the programs that are active on each date -

now the good news - I keep a step by step HOW To instruction model on my public site at Tableau Public

it will show you haw to do the analysis - not difficult - just several steps

it returns this

Jim

If this posts assists in resolving the question, please mark it helpful or as the 'correct answer' if it resolves the question. This will help other users find the same answer/resolution.  Thank you.

• 2. Re: How to visualize average concurrent events per day
            Soumitra Godbole

Hi Federica,

No reason to worry or for Headaches (or Tylenol  ). Here is my simple solution with

dummy data. I have attached the excel spreadsheet along with the twbx below.

Dashboard.png

The following are the steps outlined below

1) Data: -

There are 2 tabs in the Excel file, one containing the data and the other only the