5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2019 9:18 AM by Matt Coles

VizAlerts not sending subscriptions, only test_alert

Eric Rymers

Hi everyone,

I'm new to VizAlerts, but I've spent days attempting to get it working on the latest Tableau 2019.2.2 on Linux (CentOS). I've successfully sent alerts by commenting them with "test_alert".

However, none of the subscriptions to VizAlerts appear to be working. I've read and re-read the manuals, and I'm fairly certain all is set up correctly, especially with the test_alert comment working correctly.

If I'm understanding this correctly, the VizAlertsConfig workbook should be showing the views that are subscribed to VizAlerts on the "ScheduledTriggerViews" worksheet. However, nothing appears there, nor does any data appear when viewing the datasource directly.

I've been digging into the SQL of the "Alerts" datasource against the "workgroup" database, and I believe there is an issue with the sql. It isn't returning any data, despite several views being subscribed to a VizAlert schedule.

After scouring each table in the joins, I'm seeing that the table "subscriptions_views" is empty. This table is used on an inner join to the "views" on the "repository_url" field in order to get the view's information. Since this table is empty, no data will return.

Did something change with the internal data model for subscriptions in the latest (2019) versions of Tableau? Matt, can you take a look at this and see if I'm correct in this assessment, and perhaps offer a solution (new SQL)?

Thanks,

- Eric

• 1. Re: VizAlerts not sending subscriptions, only test_alert
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi,

FYI I'm running VizAlerts on v2019.2 and it's working fine....