3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2019 1:12 PM by Jonathan Drummey

Refresh within Prep not working?

Chris Conner

For back story: I am connected to a MySQL server DB and have created a nice flow from several table joins with multiple stages of cleaning and output going to our Tableau server as a data source. I have this data source connected to a single workbook. I have all the latest versions. I am also by no means an expert user.

This is all fine and well. I use the data source in my workbook as an extract and no issues there. The problem I'm having is that within Prep Builder i cannot get this data flow to refresh from the server without closing the app and then re-opening it, which also requires a re-log into Tableau server. There is a constant flow of data to the tables on the server from our front-end web based UI and i need to be able to validate my data as I'm building this workbook against a live connection to those same tables with another workbook. I also need to validate this data and the workbooks against the web based High Charts that run from the server. For reference, we are trying as a company to get away from IT having to be in control of all our BI.

I know this seems extravagant but i am trying to really make use of Prep and get away from having to write SQL constantly. The Prep UI is 100X more effective for joins and cleaning. Compared to writing SQL all month and planning out which table attributes to use and what needs to be cleaned up server-side....not to mention planning out projects and scheduling time for getting IT to do the cleaning. I couldn't even begin to calculate how much time i save.

Does anyone else feel me on this?