6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2019 12:34 PM by Don Wise

Tableau Prep Replace Values and Naming

none given

Good Morning,

I'm new to Tableau Prep, after 4 years of Desktop.  So far its intuitive except for a few small items.

I have some survey data with "select all that apply" responses, where the commas in an individual response disrupt the "split" in Tableau (see below).  I was hoping there was a way to pass a separate file into Tableau Prep that contains the actual and corrected response (commas removed), then conduct a mass find and replace.  Currently I'm manually using find and replace in excel.

Items_Purchased_Last_Year
      'Groceries such as apples, steak and bananas,Electronics such as iPhones, headphones and TV's'

'Groceries such as apples, steak and bananas,Toys such as Legos, Nerf and balloons'

'Electronics such as iPhones, headphones and TV's'

'Toys such as Legos, Nerf and balloons'

'Groceries such as apples, steak and bananas,Electronics such as iPhones, headphones and TV's,Toys such as Legos, Nerf and balloons'

Lastly, after splitting that column with the corrected response, it will generate multiple columns with a name appended with a "split" number. Upon pivoting those newly created columns how could I merge them back into the same name instead of having the '- split x' name?

• 1. Re: Tableau Prep Replace Values and Naming
          Don Wise

Hello None Given,

You can try a REGEX (Regular Expression) formula to remove commas from a string of text:

Replace Commas

REGEXP_REPLACE([Items Purchased Last Year],'(\(.*?\))|,','\ ')

If this answers your question , please mark this response as correct.  Best, Don

Screen Shot 2019-08-08 at 9.12.46 AM.png

• 2. Re: Tableau Prep Replace Values and Naming
            Joshua Milligan

Hi!

I really like Don Wise's suggestion for using RegEx. Here's a slightly modified approach that leaves all the commas in place, but replaces the commas that define a split with a vertical bar: