1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 29, 2019 1:34 PM by Keshia Rose

Two Issues (float multiply string and web data connections for currency)

Koji Inoue

Hello,

I have been using Tableau for a few months now and now have several issues that I've looked everywhere in forums for solution on both subjects.

This is just a demo to show, not the actual project.

1. I have an xls file which has currency forex rates that are streamed from a website into the file, then I add the file to Tableau as a connection. Now, if I would like to multiply one of the columns by an integer, I get an error saying that "cannot multiply float value by string". I understand how in one forum post (https://community.tableau.com/thread/120206) that you need to convert the float value before the operation, however this piece of code did not work. It seems like the post was based on some older Tableau software that had it working for whatever reason.

Secondary question to this: if an xls file with web data is set to refresh every hour, theoretically it should work with Tableau since the file is being updated before being passed to Tableau - right?

2. Is there anyone out there who has experience using Web Data Connectors to pull foreign exchange values into their Tableau? There has been a number of posts in the forums, and other blogs with links to specific WDC for currency exchange, namely:

https://suopa.github.io/tableau/wdc/fixerio/

http://files.tableaujunkie.com/exchangeratesearch/exchangeratewebconnect.html

https://andre347.github.io/tableau_wdc_fxrates/