4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2019 1:30 AM by Jonathan Drummey

VA is operational but running just the executable produces an error

Toby Erkson

Preface

I've been testing in my QA environment for the upgrade of 2018.1.4 to 2019.1.  I've performed this upgrade/downgrade multiple times in order to get my documentation down and the process smoothed out for the eventual production update.  I had VA working in 2019 briefly to test but it wasn't anything thorough.  I downgraded to 2018 and everything is working normally.  I did the VA install and while it does work -- there are no issues with it executing in TS -- I do have the following head-scratcher...

Issue

I ran the simple test of executing the vizalerts.exe and got this error:

>D:\Application\Tableau\VizAlerts\vizalerts.exe
      An exception was raised loading the config file .\config\vizalerts.yaml: (<type 'exceptions.IOError'>, IOError(2, 'No such file or directory'), <traceback object at 0x0348BFD0>) Stacktrace: <traceback object at 0x0348BFD0>
      Could not initialize configuration file due to an unknown error: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'error'

10:59:51  D:\
      >

I'm quite confident that my config file and published VizAlertsConfig.twb are correct.  No obvious errors to me in the vizalerts.log_...log file:

MainThread - 2019-04-13 10:58:04 - [INFO] - main - Processing a total of 0 alerts

MainThread - 2019-04-13 10:59:01 - [INFO] - LoggerQuickSetup - Logging initialized, writing to .\logs\vizalerts.log_2019-04-13.log

MainThread - 2019-04-13 10:59:01 - [INFO] - main - VizAlerts v2.1.0 is starting

MainThread - 2019-04-13 10:59:01 - [DEBUG] - trusted_ticket_test - testing trusted ticket: ***.com, terkson, americas.corpdir.net, None

MainThread - 2019-04-13 10:59:01 - [DEBUG] - get_trusted_ticket - Generating trusted ticket. Request details: Server: ***.com, Site: , Username: terkson, Url: http://***.com/trusted, Postdata: username=americas.corpdir.net%5Cterkson.