5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2019 10:42 PM by Ryan Fraser

Does tableau server client work on Tableau Public?

Mukund Kumar

Hello All,

I am new to Tableau. Currently working on a requirement where it is required to query a Tableau dashboard from my application.

The query may simple business questions like what is Total Revenue or How many orders pending e.t.c.A dashboard will all these KPIs and other calculations are already built. My application should be able to communicate with this dashboard and fetch the required information.

My research suggests that Tableau server client (TSC)/ Tableau REST API would be helpful. My application is also written in python making TSC better choice.

To begin with I have registered myself on Tableau Public, uploaded a workbook and trying this TSC sample.

import tableauserverclient as TSC

tableau_auth = TSC.TableauAuth('USERNAME', 'PASSWORD')
      server = TSC.Server('https://public.tableau.com/s/')
          print("LoggedIN successfully")

server.auth.sign_in(tableau_auth)
      print("loggedin")

I am getting this error

ParseError: not well-formed (invalid token): line 8, column 93  

I need help on the following points

• TSC works only for Tableau server or it works for Tableau Public as well?
      • If yes then what is server address in case of Tableau Public?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks and Regards,

Mukund

• 1. Re: Does tableau server client work on Tableau Public?
          Vanya Tucherov

Presently, Tableau Public does not support external service connections. We'd like to be able to extend to both Tableau Online and Tableau Public, but at present are working on things our users have indicated are more immediately pressing.

Sorry to be the bearer of less than good news,

Vanya

• 2. Re: Does tableau server client work on Tableau Public?
            Mukund Kumar

Thanks!  Vanya

After so much I concluded the same. But your reply confirmed my conclusion.