2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2019 12:16 PM by Rajat Rao

How to know if my tableau server has single node or multi-node configuration?

Rajat Rao

Hi,

I am just starting out with Tableau server administration (our server admin was laid off, and I don't have a clue of what he did), never done any admin work in the past. Hence, I am overwhelmed and lost.

We are currently on Tableau server version (10.5.3) running on a windows VM.

First off, I am trying to figure out everything about the way the current server has been setup. Any thoughts on how I can go about it? I searched the community and found that tabsvc.yml will give me all there is to know about my current configuration such as was it a mult-node or single node etc.

I have been able to reach here (C:\ProgramData\Tableau\Tableau Server\config\tabsvc.yml.) but I can't seem to find a way to open/view its contents. Is my approach correct in finding what I want to find ? will tabsvc.yml give me what I need? Plus, I read somewhere it is not recommended to edit that tabsvc.yml file manually, hence I haven't touched it yet. We don't even have a QA environment where I can test around things, any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Raj

• 1. Re: How to know if my tableau server has single node or multi-node configuration?
          Mark McGhee

Hi Rajat,

Tableau Server Administrators can use both the GUI as well as the command line to check on the system, make configuration changes, stop/restart the system etc.

For versions 2018.1.x and below the command line tool is TabAdmin, for 2018.2.x and higher this changes over to TSM.    We do have free training videos available that are worthwhile and you can select the version that you're running.   The below link will take you to "10.5" videos section.  Near the bottom of the categories there is a "Deploy and Manage Tableau Server" with 4 videos tied to it.

Tableau Training and Tutorials Archive