6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2019 7:48 AM by Jennifer VonHagel

Assessment Cohorts

Patrick Raugh

I'm a relative newbie to Tableau working in Tableau 10.5, and I'm trying to track how groups of students perform on the same assessment that is given multiple times during the year.   In the basic attached workbook, I can only get the results to be shown independently season to season.  What I really need is for the winter results to show in conjunction with how the students performed on the fall result. For example, I want to see how all the students who were at the "Intensive" level in the Fall performed on the Winter assessment, how the students at the "Strategic" level in the Fall performed on the Winter assessment, etc..

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Pat

• 1. Re: Assessment Cohorts
          Paul Wachtler

Hi Patrick,

I think I got what you're looking for.

I created two calculated fields, one called Fall Result:

{FIXED [Person ID]: max(if [Season] = "Fall" then [Result] end)}

and another called Winter Result:

{FIXED [Person ID]: max(if [Season] = "Winter" then [Result] end)}

For each person these fields split their results into the two seasons.  I then placed those two fields side by side on the rows shelf and dropped number of records onto columns.  For each fall cohort, you can see how they performed in the winter.

Screen Shot 2019-02-12 at 7.23.27 PM.png

This is all in the attached workbook.

Best,

Paul

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Assessment Cohorts
            Jennifer VonHagel

Hi Patrick,

I really like Paul's solution above, it seems a bit more sustainable and easily update-able as new seasons roll in than what I've been working on. However, I'll go ahead and share my thoughts.