1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 31, 2019 11:06 AM by Jim Dehner

Visualizing Survey Data

Maggie Amaku

Hello!

I am analyzing survey data and I am very new to Tableau. Right now I am currently hitting a road block. I found an awesome video by Steven Wexler about how to set up your survey data and followed all those steps. He recommended putting demographic data in a separate excel sheet and having all your numerical and text data in a merged excel sheet along with a helper sheet that properly identifies the question id, the wording of the question and grouping of each question (check all that apply, likert scale, etc.). When I import all my data into tableau, I have a dimension labeled grouping, my demographic data the text response to each question. I can easily filter which particular question I want to look at by dropping the grouping dimension into the filter shelf and selecting the question.

The road block I am facing is that I can cut all my survey questions with the demographic data I have. However, when I want to dive a little deeper (i.e. comparing the number of people who did not apply for SNAP benefits with the number of people who said they were satisfied with their food access) I can't do so. I've tried the filter option when in the dashboard sheet and have had no success except for when I filter the data based off of zip code information.

I feel like there is probably a really simple fix to all of this but I am completely lost. Any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks,

Maggie

( I am working in the 2018.3.0 version)

• 1. Re: Visualizing Survey Data
          Jim Dehner

Hi Maggie

I looked at your file - nice work - I did note you did not have State anywhere in your data

You can download a Zip code file at Tiger/UScensus and it includes the geocoding for state as well

the bad news is it is a single national file - pretty large

Jim