1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 22, 2019 11:49 AM by Michael Hesser

Dynamically display the measures based on filter value in tableau

Dilip Divakaran

I had a requirement where i have to display measures based on a filter created on Dimension value. For eg

Dimension Filter Value Dropdown  --> Value1, Value2, Value3
      Measures --> Measure1, Measure11, Measure2 Measure21, Measure22, Measure3

When I select

Case 1 : 
      Filter -> Value1
      Measure To display -> Measure1, Measure11

Case2 :
      Filter -> Value2
      Measure To display -> Measure2, Measure21, Measure22

Case3:
      Filter -> Value3
      Measure To display -> Measure3

I am new to tableau development and last few days i started using this . I googled few and found one resource in the below link

https://www.ryansleeper.com/how-to-let-users-choose-measures-and-dimensions-in-tableau/

But in the above link they shown based on filter value they display only one measures not multiple measures. I need to display multiple measures based on filter value.

As Explained i followed the process but don't know how to include multiple measures in the below code in Calculate field

CASE [Filter Parameter]
      WHEN “Value1” THEN Measure1, Measure11
      WHEN “Value2” THEN Measure2, Measure21, Measure22
      WHEN “Value3” THEN Measure3
      END

Hope it is explained well, please let me know .

Thanks

• 1. Re: Dynamically display the measures based on filter value in tableau
          Michael Hesser

Hi Dilip;

Some of this depends on how you want to display your information-- if you want it displayed merely as text, or as measures that can be summed, sorted, and so on.

A quick solution could be treating your measures like text and combining them together:

Sort Value 1

STR([Measure1])+","+STR([Measure11])

There can be all kinds of problems with this solution, though: you lose the ability to manipulate measures as numbers, plus there are sorting restraints.