3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2019 4:36 AM by Sarah Butler

Unsure if I need to change data in source?

Sarah Butler

Hi all,

I am very new to Tableau, only started using it in the last month or so and I am the first to use it in my organisation. Every year we do a survey asking people to type into a box what percentage of their annual revenue goes to spending on x. We usually just take the average % but this year my employer would like me to create a bar chart showing the different revenue bands of the companies surveyed on the x axis and the average percentage spend on said item on the y axis.

The problem I am having is the survey output we have simply gives us the number people typed in. Tableau only seems to be able to tell me how many people said 5(%) or whatever and I can average how many people answered the question, but I want an average of the actual percentage they gave (so say, people in this size company on average spend 5% of their revenue on x).

As for the bar chart, I have no idea how to move things around to get revenues along the x axis and percentage spend on the y axis, since I only have a column of numbered answers that tableau doesn't recognise as a % of anything. The furthest I've managed to get is the answers along the x and how many people gave that answer, but that's not very helpful to visualise.

I'm happy to change the excel sheet if I need to to get this to work, if anyone can help! Screenshot of not very helpful graph below.

• 1. Re: Unsure if I need to change data in source?
          Stephen Rizzo