8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2019 1:58 AM by Chris McClellan

Newbie - Trying to rename a filter

Jean Davis

Hello,

I'm new to Tableau. I have viewed some of the videos and were able to create two reports. My problem is with a report created by a previous co-worker who no longer works for the company. He created a monthly report which stopped reporting for the December report. I assume it was one of the filters which I was correct. For some reasons, no data was selected in the filter. I was able to correct that problem but I can't figure out how he renamed the filter. On the dimensions we have Result but on the filters tab he has 'Result: Member Review Complete'. Thank you.

Previous filter for Result - no longer working

Added value to the filter > receive data > but I can't rename back to Result: Member Review Complete

• 1. Re: Newbie - Trying to rename a filter
          Brian Cronin

"Result" is the name of one of your dimension fields you are filtering on.  It was previously displaying as "Result: Member Review Complete" because when only one selection is made Tableau will notate what selection there is after a ":" in this case "Member Review Complete" when you selected an additional value within that filter it only displays that you have a filter in place for your "Result" dimension and you have to click the pill and click edit filter to view what selections are made.

Nothing to worry about functionally. 

Hope this helps.

• 2. Re: Newbie - Trying to rename a filter
            Jean Davis

Hi, Brian

Thank you for the quick response. I took a copy of the original dashboard for testing. I'm not sure how this was changed but no data was reported for one of the monthly reports. I removed all of the filters and added just Result hoping to get Result: Member Review Complete. I do apologize if I'm missing something. I just want everything to be the same in the production environment. When I edit to add all value it changes the filter name.