2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 1, 2019 11:56 AM by Emir Karadag

Peer Grouping & YTD Growth calculations in Table Calculation

Emir Karadag

Hi all,

Happy New Year!

I have two interesting problems I have created using some dummy data (see attachment1 - Dummy data). I'm somewhat new to the data visualization part, especially to Tableau so please bear with me when I don't use the right terminology or explain a simple concept in a complicated matter.

Also, I do not usually post on the forums as I try to make use of the already answered problems but I have had no luck in the past weeks finding what I want to do and I heard that this community is so welcoming, I wanted to give it a shot.

Let me get right into it:

Data-set explanation:

The data set consists of the monthly sales for each product in the span of 3 years.

The numbers in the dummy data I created do not reflect the real numbers since they are just randomized. The Sales Pre column is supposed to reflect the sales numbers from the month = (current_month -1) AND (year = current_year - 1).

Problem 1: I want to be able to show the percentage change from the previous year but 2018 percentage change should be based on the YTD calculations.

Desired End result: I want two panes in the table; one with sales numbers and another pane that shows the FY Percentage Change for 2017 and YTD Percentage Change for 2018. I don't need to show the sales numbers from the previous year. So no Sales-pre pane and removed unnecessary years (see Attachment2 - Screenshot)

Current state: I have added (behind the scenes in Python) the Sales Previous column which shows the sales in the current month previous year.  I tried to do two separate table calculations but it does not work because 1. I can't get rid of the unnecessary years in the view because for instance once you get rid off '2016', it is removed from all the panes not only from the Growth pane.