11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 28, 2018 3:56 PM by Sarah Battersby

Shapefile Zoom

Chris Martin

Please bear with me as I am new to Tableau.  I am trying to find out why our ShapeFile does not Zoom when filtering/unfiltering.  We have joined it to another Oracle datasource.

From the attached image you can see the polygons based on the Division selected.  It would be expected that this would zoom in on the polygons yet it seems to be showing the whole map where all the divisions would be located.

Any direction or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Tableau Version: 10.5.6 (10500.18.0703.1953) 64 bit

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Shapefile Zoom
          Sarah Battersby

Hi Chris,

My first thought is that you might have the map 'pinned' at full extent.  Try unpinning - the icon should look like this - and then the map should pan/zoom to the filtered locations:

As opposed to like this (when the map is pinned to a set extent):

If you have turned the map toolbar off and need to turn it back on to update this, click on Map - > Map Options and then make sure 'show toolbar' is checked.

Let me know if this doesn't work and I'll see if I can come up with some other ideas.

-Sarah

Tableau Research

• 2. Re: Shapefile Zoom
            Chris Martin

Hi Sarah,

We were playing around with the "pin" and selecting different divisions. We noticed that only one of our divisions is not zooming; it is in the full map state (the map is unpinned as you suggested). 

• 3. Re: Shapefile Zoom
              Sarah Battersby

But all of the rest of the divisions zoom as expected when filtered to that specific division?

Is there any chance you can share your twbx with me?  If it's sensitive data we can work out a way to share the file outside of the forums.  If you follow me in the forums you should be able to share the file directly (or I'll pass along my Tableau email) so that I can take a look at the file.

-Sarah.

• 4. Re: Shapefile Zoom
                Jonathan Drummey

Hi Chris,