3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 28, 2018 12:31 PM by Michael Gillespie

Extracting/Manipulating Data parameters

Nicholas Cazaubon

Background - I'm a java front end developer by trade, new to the world of Tableau, and tasked with figuring out how to integrate it in several ways for a contract I'm currently on.  After reading through the REST, Python and JavaScript APIs a bit I'm not sure I'm any closer to any answers, and was hoping others may have experience with some of the tasks I'm trying to figure out and be able to offer some insight.

The integration is focused on two points.  The first is through portal data entry, which boils down to the system should allow the user to define data sets within the portal for use in reports viewing as well as data visualization (through a different data visualization tool) and potentially other tools.  The second is linking actions taken within the Tableau tool (presumably the online tool, possibly including the desktop tool) back to the other tools/portal, allowing users to refine their data sets using the reports as a feedback mechanism.  With those two goals in mind, I have the following hopefully more specific questions.