9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2018 5:41 PM by Paul Wachtler

Unable to come up with a visualization

Jeshwanth Kundem

I am new to the tableau, been using on and off for over a year.

I have a following data sheet, where the columns nomenclated from  RS - RP ( a total of 14 columns) come under something that I call as features.

Each of the 14 columns have five different answers - not at all important, slightly important, moderately important, important, extremely important.

The other columns, like A, S, User type, Experince...indicate multiple qualitative variables.

I am struggling almost a two to three days now, on how to create a visualization, where I can talk about

Features vs User type

Features vs A

Features vs S

Features vs Experience

If I can get one, I know I can figure out the rest. However, I am even unable to come up with a visualization/ filter based visualization/ hierarchy based visualization. I am just blank on thoughts.

Any help would be great or even some direction.

• 1. Re: Unable to come up with a visualization
          Paul Wachtler

Hi Jeshwanth,

With a little setup, I was able to create a highlight table to compare Features vs User Type.  It's in the attached workbook.  You could use a similar highlight table for the other visualizations you're looking to create as well.

Here's how I created it:

1) Pivoted the data - on the data source screen, I selected all 14 feature columns, right clicked, and selected "pivot".  This gives you one column with all of the features in it (I called it Feature) and one column with all of the answers (I called it Feature Values).

2) In order to quantify the answers I created a group called Feature Value (group) that turned each answer into a number (though it's still a string).

3) I then created a calculated field called Feature Value number that converts each number into an integer.  Now you have a numerical value for each response.