2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2018 11:29 AM by Paul Wachtler

Newbie question: Is filtering on multiple outcomes possible?

Rebecca Ortega

Hi all,

I'm a Tableau newbie, so bear with me here. I've created 16 different visualizations on teacher quality and I've been tasked with figuring out a way to make this more interactive on my org's website.  (Context: I'm a grad student in anthropology with zero web-dev experience.)

We have the following measures for variable year ranges:

-Experience

-Proportion of students exposed to novice teachers

-Value-added score

-Value added score with classroom controls

-Certification test scores

-Proportion of students exposed to lower-quartile value-added teachers

-Proportion of students exposed to lower-quartile value-added teachers with classroom controls

-Proportion of students exposed to teachers with lower-quartile certification scores

Each outcome is measured at the building and the district levels between minority/non-minority students and low-income/non low income students.

The ultimate goal per my supervisor is to have a way on the website for users to pick from 2 drop down menus what measures they are interested in and have that populate the Tableau figure automatically.  For example, I would select experience and minority status, which would populate the graph of experience by year for minority/non-minority students at both the building and district levels.

Is this functionality possible to make in Tableau? Or is it, as I suspect, more of a website construction question?

Cheers,

Your friendly neighborhood Tableau newb

• 1. Re: Newbie question: Is filtering on multiple outcomes possible?
          Jim Dehner

Hi

First welcome to Tableau and the forum

Filtering excludes values from the data - sets will group the data into In and out of the set

At the recent tableau conference there was an excellent presentation that speaks to your problem

see the link https://tc18.tableau.com/learn/sessions/32200