7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2018 12:11 PM by Stephen Beste

Sort and rank on multiple text table columns

Stephen Beste

I'm an experienced computer guy, but I'm new to Tableau (Tableau Public). I'm stymied trying to get a text table to sort as I want. Can someone give me a steer?

What I have:

As is.jpg

Purpose: I'm showing the sales of various makes & models of aircraft by year, sorted by sales in the most recent year. Hence, 15, 14, 12, 12, ...

• I manually set the sort order on the most recent year every time I update the data.
      • The [Year] dimension is discrete integer years. I have a Top filter on it in the sheet so it just shows the top 4 values of INT([Year]). The data goes back 15 years or so. This works fine.

Problems: I want to

1. Automatically do a primary sort on the most recent Year column. I don't want to have to remember to manually update it every time the data changes or a year gets added.
      2. Do a 2nd-level sort on [Make & Model]. Notice how the last 3 rows in the image above are NOT sorted this way.
      3. Show a Rank column based on the values for the most recent year.

Desired outcome:

Desired.jpg

Any advice? I'm using Tableau Public so I can't open any workbooks. Sorry. I do have complete control over the upstream database, if that's where this has to get calculated.

Thanks,

Steve

• 1. Re: Sort and rank on multiple text table columns
          Shinichiro Murakami

Hope this helps.

Using superstore example.

Under same Rank, the name sorting is set alphabetical as default, and you don't need to do anything I think.

Thanks,

Shin 

• 2. Re: Sort and rank on multiple text table columns
            Stephen Beste

Shin,

Thank you for your quick reply! You've taken me part way to a solution. Here's what I found.