6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2018 5:59 PM by Katherine Dinsmore

Linked tables causing wrong record counts

Katherine Dinsmore

Hi Tableau community,

I'm getting really discouraged after trying to solve this myself for several days now so I've decided to reach out for some help. I'm very new to Tableau so please be patient. I am working with a large amount of survey data (stripped down version used for trouble-shooting here) and am having major issues getting accurate record counts. The attached workbook consists of two tables linked by QuestionID (pivot table names) with only 5 rows of data. Here's my problem, you will notice on Sheet 1 I am trying to get a simple count of *** (male or female) but the numbers generated are clearly not reflective of 5 rows of data. Interestingly, when I use *** to slice the data, the numbers are accurate for each question listed (Sheet 2). What do I need to understand so that I can use this field [***] in either scenario with consistent results? I want to see a total of 5 (3 males 2 females) on Sheet 1 and things to remain the same on Sheet 2 because that appears to be working as expected.

Help! Kate

• 1. Re: Linked tables causing wrong record counts
          Chris McClellan

Because of the way your data is structured, your getting the *** value on every response.

To drop it down to the proper values (there's 5 respondents) you have to do this:

COUNT([Number of Records])/COUNTD([Question ID])

2018-12-01 20_39_41-Tableau - Sample Data.png

• 2. Re: Linked tables causing wrong record counts
            Chris Chalmers

Hey Katherine,

Short answer: use COUNTD([UID]) (count of distinct user IDs) instead of SUM([Number of Records]).