1 2 3 4 Previous Next 56 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2018 8:33 PM by Richard Leeke

Help on mapping population census blocks using dynamic radius filter

Wilfred Eze

Warning: Forgive me if I don't use the right terms - I am very new to tableau.

I am working on a project to focusing on population of people living within a selected dynamic radius distance (in km). Second part of the project is to show which of provincial road networks pass through the selected circle.

What I have:

1. Shape file of 2016 population census of the province (Saskatchewan, Canada) - down to dissemination block area units IDs (DBAUIDs). This shape file also has areas (in square kms) of all the DBAUID's.

2. Shape Map of the provincial road networks - different classes of roads, town names, metro centers, etc.

My main focus is to draw circles (dynamic radius) around top 9 city centers by population. And show the population living within that radius AND amount spent on maintaining road networks passing through that circle - by increasing or decreasing the radius. I found a very good example here (Richard Leeke's Super-Charged ZIP Code Radius-Finder ) but can't reproduce it as I have limited knowledge on GIS.

What I have done:

1. I was able to build circles using the lat/long of 9 cities - chosen manually (But I wish this can be automated for all cities and be able to select by filters).

2. I was also able to change the circle radius using a parameter.

I am stuck with overlaying the population files and road network files and making them work with the circles. Like I said earlier, this (workbook found here >> Richard Leeke's Super-Charged ZIP Code Radius-Finder  is exactly what I have in mind to achieve. I need help on this. Thank you for being kind enough to help me advance in Tableau. All of the definition to understand the census data are here: Table 4.12 Dissemination area boundary files record layout.