4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2018 2:59 PM by Katrin EFFER

Stacked bar chart: add a reference line with subtotal

Katrin EFFER

Hello everyone,

I am new to Tableau and have created a stacked bar chart to show the evolution of political rights and civil liberties for selected countries.

Each row is composed of 2 categories:

1. PR &

2. CL (as can be taken from the legend).

How can I add a reference line for each row that indicates the subtotal of PR (composed of 3 subcategories) and of CL (composed of 4 subcategories)?

And just in case: I am also struggling with changing the order of the legend, without changing the order of the subcategories in the bar chart?

Thanks and kind regards,

Katrin

• 1. Re: Stacked bar chart: add a reference line with subtotal
          Stephen Rizzo

Hi Katrin,

I added the following calculated fields

[Subtotal PR] : [Diff A Aggr] + [Diff B Aggr] + [Diff C Aggr]

[Subtotal CL] : [Diff D Aggr] + [Diff E Aggr] + [Diff F Aggr] + [Diff G Aggr]

Adding those under "Detail" in the "Marks" card, I was then able to add reference lines (right-click on axis, "Add Reference Line") for each row. Was that what you wanted?

Changing the order of your legend is tricky - I would recommend putting this chart in a dashboard, then creating a separate "dummy" worksheet with the same color legend, except with the colors are in a different order. You could then display the legend from the dummy worksheet next to the stacked bar chart.