1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 7, 2018 7:01 AM by venkatram

Distinct count calculation where parameters reference a range of values over multiple rows

Gordon C

Hello,

I am new to both tableau and this community, but have looked across the forums and cannot seem to find a similar query to the one I have here.

I have had to use generic terms to describe my data, but the principles are the same as with the real dataset I am working with.

At it's most basic, what I am trying to achieve is to calculate performance for tasks; whilst tasks have a unique reference, they can have multiple sub-tasks (rows in the data) associated with them. Whether or not the unique task has 'fulfilled' the criteria is based on the content of the sub tasks. If the number of sub tasks were 1:1 with unique tasks, or the values within were merely either/or data, I think this would be achievable but my difficulty stems from there being multiple sub tasks per task. The values attributed to sub tasks are from one of 20 pre-defined text-based options, as well as the potential of null. 15 of these values could be considered as 'fulfilled' criteria, and 5 as 'unfulfilled'.

For my performance, I want any fulfilled sub-task to render the overall unique task as fulfilled even if the task also has additional sub-tasks which have not met the criteria. I would also need to count null returns, i.e. if  no sub tasks were created - this event would result in an 'unfulfilled' unique task.