4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2018 8:44 PM by Jon Syu

I Still Need Help Understanding "FIXED" (Level of Detail)

Jon Syu

I'm just learning Tableau on my own, and have no prior experience with spreadsheets, databases, excel, etc.  While most of it feels pretty intuitive, I have some huge holes in my basic knowledge--especially regarding LOD in calculations.  I thought I understood "FIXED", but I'm getting very bad results.  I have a table with "ID" and "Event" in columns.  2 possible values in "Event" are "call" and "email".  All I want to do is find all the IDs that haven't called or emailed yet. 

When I use these calculation:

{FIXED [ID]:MIN(

IF [CallsEmail]=='none'

THEN [ID]

END)}

where [CallsEmail] is this calculation:

IF [Event]=="call"

OR [Event]=="email"

THEN "some"

ELSE "none"

END)}

it doesn't work.  I'll look at the data for a particular ID, and it'll show several chats or calls.

So I tried this calculation instead:

IF
      [Event] <> "call")}

AND

{FIXED [ID]:MIN([Event] <> "email")}

THEN [ID]

END)}

but it didn't work either.  I also had a calculation that found ID with calls and emails, so I made another calculation:

{FIXED [ID]:
      MIN(

IF NOT CONTAINS([Caller],[ID])

AND NOT CONTAINS ([Emailer],[ID])

THEN [ID]

END)}

but still didn't work.  I tried a couple of more variations, but they're all about the same.  I thought FIXED meant that it would go through every ID?

I can't post the data, so I described it as accurately as possible (I don't think there's anything important I left out).