3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2018 1:01 PM by Steve Hawkes

General question about deployment

Steve Hawkes

I'm new to Tableau and haven't been able to find information or best practices regarding deployment of visualizations for others.  From what I've read, publishing to an on-premises Tableau server is good for workbooks that need to be shared to a select group of users and publishing to Tableau Public is good when you want to share the visualization with the public.  Is this correct?  If yes, is it possible to just share a dashboard to the public and not the accompanying worksheets?  Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: General question about deployment
          Sasha Hanna

Hi Steve,

There are multiple solutions for deploying Tableau.

You can publish workbooks to Tableau Server (on-premise) or Tableau Online (cloud hosted by Tableau) and leverage intricate data governance schemes. Workbooks can then be consumed from any browser and on mobile devices.

You can also publish Tableau Public which is publicly available and you can even embed these on websites.

You can share workbooks with user that don't have licenses and they can interact with these on Tableau Reader. This often has limited functionality (like the inability to see underlying data or connecting live to few data sources).

Choosing the elements of your deployment will vary on your company size, data usage, data sources and company policies. What are your current use cases?

Cheers,

Sasha

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: General question about deployment
            Srinidhi Narayan