9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2018 1:31 PM by Kyle Kopczyk

Help on Inserting Previous "good" value where null

Kyle Kopczyk

I am new to Tableau and just getting my feet wet. I need a little help on understanding where I should be looking to fix my issue. Can this be fixed in Tableau?

I have a really large data set I am working with. I have a 'Value' that is associated with an unique ID and a timestamp on when the 'Value' happened.

For some of the Unique ID's, this 'value' is inserted everyday (for some). The 'value' may be the same, it may change.

I want to show the times when there is a delta change from the start 'value' to where the 'value' changes or increases. So far, I have been able to to do this, so long as the time stamp from my Unique ID's align.

Please note the varying days on which the 'value' is accounted for. It is not always the same number of days from the previous 'value' to the next. So, using a lookup does not seem to help.

If I add in another Unique ID with a 'value' timestamp from everyday, it changes my reference of the previous value to null and breaks the delta calculation for the Unique ID ending in 601. Where the Unique ID of 501, the calculation is still working.

I have tried to use a ZN function or an IFNULL (and even messing with some LOOKUP functions), but inserting Zero where the values are Null creates a (in the case of Unique ID 601) a 38 followed by -38 then a bunch of zeros, then a 39 followed by a -39, and the pattern repeats.

What I would really like to do is have Tableau to use the first known valid value and insert that for a null until it finds another non-null value and insert that new non-null value. Is this possible to accomplish in tableau? I have not used Tableau Prep at all, but would that help me? Or do I need to start creating some temp tables and managing the data from the source? What is the best way to accomplish what I am looking to do?