11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2018 3:21 PM by Matt Coles

Vizalerts Installation Problems

Daniel Lawrence

Hello All,

I am excited to get VizAlerts working and using it on a daily basis to automate away all of my reporting troubles /sarcasm.

Unfortunately, I am having trouble during installation and none of the installation specfics errors pertain to me.  I am new to being a server admin so I truly hope this is not human error but hopefully it is a quick fix if that is the case.

Vizalerts installation server login issue.PNG

I have gotten to this portion where Vizalerts Config Workbook is loaded in Desktop and I need to connect to my server.

Does it make a difference that my Tableau server is run on a Microsoft Azure cloud instance?  I added the IP address of the cloud instance as a trusted IP host.  

I have triple checked that my readonly password is correct.  I have tried my domain host name with and without the preceding HTTPs://.

An error occurred while communicating with PostgreSQL.

Unable to connect to the server. Check that the server is running and that you have access privileges to the requested database.

could not connect to server: Connection timed out (0x0000274C/10060)

Is the server running on host "DOMAIN HOST NAME" (IP ADDRESS) and accepting

TCP/IP connections on port 8060?

Unable to connect to the server "DOMAIN HOST NAME". Check that the server is running and that you have access privileges to the requested database

Have I made a mistake somewhere?

Thank you for your help and insight!

• 1. Re: Vizalerts Installation Problems
          Matt Coles

Hey Daniel. Have you already run through these steps to open access up to the Tableau Server repository? Collect Data with the Tableau Server Repository - Tableau. That's the second step listed in the install guide for the Tableau Server steps, so if you haven't done that yet, it would explain the issue.

• 2. Re: Vizalerts Installation Problems
            Daniel Lawrence

Matt,