3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2018 7:06 PM by Ritesh Bisht

Subscriptions for Live Connections

Daniel Lawrence

Hello all,

I have 2018.1 Server on a cloud instance with a few different types of data sources:

• Generic ODBC connection with extracts refreshed on a schedule (credentials embedded)
      • Static Excel file housed on the cloud instance that is manually updated (Live Connection)
      • JSON file housed on the cloud instance that is automatically updated outside of Tableau (Live Connection)
      • Tableau Extracts that come out of Tableau Prep locally then manually placed on server (Live Connection)

I have followed all the directions for setting up subscriptions but currently the only workbook that I have a subscription icon and can thus subscribe for subscriptions is one workbook that has ONLY the ODBC connection as a data source.  I have another workbook that has the same ODBC connection as a data source but a second data source is the Excel sheet.  Clearly the problem lies with the Live Connections not allowing subscriptions.

As noted here:

subscriptions description.PNG

To my knowledge, none of my data sources besides the ODBC connection require credentials of any kind.  Where can I verify this and/or what can I do to convince Tableau that my data sources require no credentials at all?

Thank you for any and all insights!

• 1. Re: Subscriptions for Live Connections
          Ritesh Bisht

You can subscribe a Live connection , we do have lots of live connections to which we have subscribed

You just need to have embedded database credentials and it should  work with live connections as well