6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2018 10:12 AM by Dan Vrabie

Tableau Prep - generate headers from file

Dan Vrabie

Hi,

I'm brand new to Tableau Prep, and I'm trying to automate some data flows.

The issue that I'm having is that I need to union multiple data files (txt) that have no header. I can import all of them through the Multiple File option, but I end up with a generic header (F1, F2, F3 ...). I can manually rename the header,s but there are lots of fields and it is annoying.

Is there a way I can import a file (txt, xls etc) that contains the header, and through Tableau Prep functionality:

- union this header file with the rest of the data files AND

- make the header line in the hear file the new header for the combined file?

This would automate my process and also make it scaleable.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Tableau Prep - generate headers from file
          Rory Wallis

Hi Dan,

I could be wrong but I'm not sure that's possible. Why is it that the data coming into the Flow does not already have a header?

Rory

• 2. Re: Tableau Prep - generate headers from file
            Dan Vrabie

Hi Rory,

Thank you for your reply. I kind of figured out it's not possible, at least not with the current functionality.

My options are:

1. run a command prompt line that concatenates the files, with the file header at the top, and then import the consolidated file and indicate the header line as the first line

2. combine all files first in Tableau Prep with the "multiple files" option and a "generic" header (F1,F2,F3...), and then add a step in Tableau Prep where I manually type the header for the combined file.

I've opted for the second solution.

Relative to your question, the system that dumps the file does not generate a file header in the text format; i can do it as an xml, but then reading the xml files might generate some issues.

Thanks.

dan

• 3. Re: Tableau Prep - generate headers from file
              Rory Wallis