4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2018 7:00 AM by Moshe Gottlieb

Local extract from published datasource

Moshe Gottlieb

I am new to Tableau especially with regards to published datasources and I wanted to know if the following is possible (or maybe even the normal use).

I want to have a published datasource on our tableau server with a live connection to the database.

I want to have multiple workbooks all pointing to the published datasource but not making use of the live connection but rather a point in time local extract of the published datasource.

I need to do this to preserve history.

For eg I will have datasource PA published and pointing to my database in Jan 2018.

Multiple workbooks will be created and published with a local extract that was generated from the published datasource on Jan 2018.

In Feb 2018 the data has changed and I now publish new workbooks.

I want my new workbooks to get local extracts off the published datasource based on Feb 2018 data, while my prior set of workbooks will maintain the same extract (Jan 2018).

Is that possible?

Do I need to do anything specific to make that work?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Local extract from published datasource
          ShivaRam Chennapragada

Moshe- It is possible, but I don't understand what you're trying to achieve here. Here's why,

1) If you create multiple extracts off the same data source, create and publish workbooks with those extracts then wouldn't it clutter your server with N number of Extracts all having the same data?

2) If you're trying to create a new workbook with data from Feb, and still trying to preserve workbook from Jan isn't that just redundant work? You can just use filters to switch back to Jan to see the data through January right?