3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 1, 2018 2:06 AM by lei.chen.0

Calculate no of customers that have bought product A in each month and product B in past two months.

Radu Manoil

So basicaly I have a product A and a product B. I need to calculate the no of customers that have bought product A on a monthly basis along with product B min one in the last 2 months. For example if a customer bought A this month and B last month it should be counted. I managed to calculate the no of customers that have bought A and B in the same month but I don't know how to extend B to past 2 months. I have an idea using parameters for month but I need also to display a YTD monthly figures.

I'm new to tableau so any help would be highly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Calculate no of customers that have bought product A in each month and product B in past two months.
          lei.chen.0

Hello Radu,

In general, LOD would help you achieve the requirements.

However, solution might be different depending on the data format.

So please attach a workbook or some sample data, for more specific advices.

Besides, I have two questions about the requirements.

Radu Manoil wrote:

So basicaly I have a product A and a product B. I need to calculate the no of customers that have bought product A on a monthly basis along with product B min one in the last 2 months.

What's the definition of "on a monthly basis"?

Does it mean the customer phrases product A each month from the earliest date to the latest date in your data?

If the customer didn't purchase product A in any of the months, the customer will not be counted?

What's the definition of "last 2 months"?

Is it a relative date range from today or any selected month?

Regards

Lei

• 2. Re: Calculate no of customers that have bought product A in each month and product B in past two months.
            Radu Manoil

Thank you for picking this up Lei!