Just to be really clear, Chris:
When you select "Dashboards Only", Tableau only makes the dashboard view VISIBLE to users. It still has to publish all the individual worksheets that make up the dashboard, but it hides them from the end consumer. The only thing anyone will see is the dashboard.
If you download the workbook from Server, all those individual worksheets will be in there.
Michael- glad you cleared that out, that's what I meant to type but mixed up. Thanks for clarifying.
It’s a misleading way of naming that function. i’ve seen people get confused before so i like to highlight it when i can. Nothing wrong with what you said, Shiva!