6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2018 11:49 PM by Steve Martin

percentile

Sara Salmina

Hi

I am quite new in Tableau, so I am still not very familiar with all formulas, aggregation, options,... I "inherited" the report from a person who left the company, therefore I am updating it because a few formulas don't work quite right.

I have a table which reports the productivity of each person in a team on a weekly basis.

The productivity is calculated using raw data: Actual Hours Completed/Actual Hours available: SUM({actual H compl])/SUM({actual Available H])

I have a Report date filter where I can select multiple week.

I then have an additional column which calculate the percentile of the productivity of the team (for simplicity, we can use the 50th percentile): {FIXED [Team Name], {Report Date] : percentile([actual H compl]/[actual Available h], 0.5)}.

I have to rewrite the formula otherwise I get an error that "argument to percentile is already an aggregation"

If I select only one week, all columns works fine.

If I select multiple weeks, the percentile column does not work properly.

To simplify, I thought to create a new column with only the results of the productivity (so to not have issue in relation to the aggregation) and then obtain the percentile from this column (which should contain only number instead of calc). The original "productivity column" (actual h completed/ actual h available) will be the same as the "new productivity column", but without calculation.

The percentile column will have the same value on each row.

It seems something very easy to imagine, but apparently not to realise.

Are you able to help, please.

Sara

• 1. Re: percentile
          Steve Martin

Hi Sara,

His sounds as though itshoukd be easy to remedy with window calcs but in the absence of a workbook, this is difficult to visualise.

Are you able to upload an anonymised wrkbook preferably using Superstore Sales for us to work with

Steve

• 2. Re: percentile