5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2018 9:39 AM by Joe Oppelt

Difference code

Priscilla Garza

So, I'm trying to make a difference column. If either of my 2 columns that I'm pulling from have a zero then I want the difference column to null it out/show nothing. (Although if it could say "N.A." that would be way better.) If both columns have numerical data, then I want them to subtract for the difference...

This is what I have at this point:

If [2017]=0 then null

ElseIf [2018]=0 then null

Else [2017]-[2018]

End

So far, if I just do whats below, then it will work. But if I try to add both conditions, then it gets lost.

If [2017] (or 2018) = 0 Then Null

Else [2017]-[2018]

End

Im new to Tableau so I'm not sure on the specifics of the code as they seem to be a little finicky.

• 1. Re: Difference code
          Joe Oppelt

This should work:

If [2017]=0 then null

ElseIf [2018]=0 then null

Else [2017]-[2018]

End

just like you typed it.

Otherwise do:

If [2017]=0 or [2018]=0 then null

Else [2017]-[2018]

End

If you want "N.A" then you'll have to convert the output to string.  If your prior calc was called [Year Calc] then do this:

if isnull([Year Calc]) then "N.A" else STR([Year Calc]) END

I suspect you might need to upload a sample workbook if this doesn't get you there.  Do you know how to make a packaged workbook?

• 2. Re: Difference code
            Priscilla Garza

Ive tried it both ways and it still doesn't work for some reason. This is a test sample I came up with as it still doesn't work even with this data in Tableau. To get the separate 2018/2017 columns, make a calculated field each with the code I have below.

1. 2018 = ZN(if [Term]=2018 then [Count] END)

2. 2017 = ZN(if [Term]=2017 then [Count] END)

Then try making the difference column with the code we discussed. I don't get if I'm missing something or what is going on. Hopefully you can figure it out!

Thanks!

• 3. Re: Difference code
              Joe Oppelt