7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2018 8:10 AM by Joe Oppelt

Getting value from previous row

Artyom Malafeev

Hi everyone!

I am completely new to tableau and strugglled for couple days to solve my problems so i cry for help

So i have a larger data set and some data designed like this:

ID        EVENT       TIME    
      1         attempt       [time]

1         error            [time]

1         attempt       [time]
      1         success      [time]

2         attempt       [time]

2         attempt       [time]

2         error            [time]

3         attempt       [time]

3         success      [time]

Where ID is User unique ID and event is specific action done by user

I have two major problems to solve

Firstly, i need to identify whenever there are any cases for specific users of specific subsequent events and store this information into TRUE/FALSE variable.
      So, for example, i need to check for all users separately if success event is followed by attempt event.
      My initial code was

{fixed [id] :

IIF(LOOKUP(([event]),-1) = "event 1"

and

([event] = "event 2"),

TRUE,

FALSE)}

but i get error that all fields must be aggregated or constant

Secondly, i need to check whenever there were specific events accompanied by another event(not necessarily immediately after) for specific user. For example i need to know if user with ID 1 had attempt event and success event and if he or she had i need to store this into TRUE/FALSE variable as well. Have exactly zero ideas how to do that.

I also i have to create variable if specific user had two or more same events but i think it is kind of similar to second thing so hopefully i will figure it out on my own.

• 1. Re: Getting value from previous row
          Joe Oppelt

You can't do table calcs (such as LOOKUP) in LODs.

So take the LOD syntax out of there and just do the logic after the colon.  Also you will have to wrap [event] in ATTR() in that calc.

ATTR([event])