1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 6, 2018 7:57 PM by swaroop.gantela

Conditions to Begin Counting and End Counting

Howie Lim U

Hey guys,

I'm wondering if there is a way to count records based on start and end conditions in Tableau. Please bear with me as I try to explain this as I'm still new to Tableau. What I'm trying to achieve is to calculate visitor engagement into a retail outlet. I've also attached a sample packaged workbook.

1. The conditions to start counting each device (identified by its MAC Address) is to have a record with RSSI > 15, this opens a 30 minute "session".
      2. This would then continue the count as long as the following records have an RSSI > 10, this maintains the 30 minute "session".
        • If the device maintains an RSSI > 10 for at least 10 minutes in a 30 minute window (or "session"), we consider them as a Visitor.
        • Else if the device maintains an RSSI > 10 but for less than 10 minutes, we consider them a Bounce.

Up to now, you'll see that I've only been able to segment the Seen Time UTC+8 into 30 minute bins and calculate the Seen Epoch Difference (LOD of max Seen Epoch - min Seen Epoch) in that fixed 30 minute window, but that's not what I'm really after. Rather, for higher accuracy, I'd like to count based on an individual device's own 30 minute window ("session") based on conditions above.

Hope this makes sense. Would really appreciate the help!

• 1. Re: Conditions to Begin Counting and End Counting
          swaroop.gantela

Howie,

Well, this attempt is highly unsatisfactory, but there is a hope that it could maybe give some ideas.

It is unsatisfactory because it is requires the dataset to be joined to itself, it is overly complicated,

and it will likely get bogged down with large amounts of data.

Nonetheless, I think it does match your criteria, so maybe it can spur other methods.

Also, I took a different approach to a session, which also may be overly complicated.