1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2018 5:03 PM by Okechukwu Ossai

Calculating working hours for night shifts - find MIN(shift end time) after the shift start time

Ivan Ivanov

Hello everyone,

I am new to the Tableau community and this is my first post. I first tried to find a solution in the forums but had no success.

Every month I receive an Excel spreadsheet with check-in and check-out times of employees and I have to calculate their working hours for the day. I do so with this formula

DATEDIFF('minute', MAX([Shift Start]), MIN([Shift End])) / 60

and it works as long as the Shift Start and Shift End are in the same day (data discrepancies don't matter at the moment - employees are currently being taught how to use the system as they still check in and out multiple times during the day and we also have outs before the ins quite often). My problem is that I cannot sum the working hours for the night shifts because the shift start and shift end are in different days. As you can see in the attached workbook, the shift ends do not stay against their respective starts but against a NULL field instead; on the other hand, there are NULL values against all night shift starts. I suppose that if I manage to position them on the same line the desired calculation will be accomplished with ease.

Photo example.png

Another thought I have on my mind is that if I can calculate the time difference between MAX(Shift start) and the next Shift end entry for that employee (something like MIN(Shift end) > MAX(Shift start)) I will get the results I am hoping for. Probably a LOD calculation will do the work but I can't really think of a way to achieve it.

Can anyone offer any help for this please? Any help is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to read through my post!