5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2018 5:26 AM by Michael Gillespie

Newbie needing some help on parsing and linking data

Conor McGreevy

Apologies if this a stupid question but I'm new to tableau and I'm trying to teach myself some basics.

The issue I have is as follows.

I have a large dataset with transactions. Some of the transactions are linked. So for example Transaction 1 is liked to transaction 5 . Unfortunately the IT team embedded the linking ID in a comments field which I have had to parse - this bit is fine. Only some records contain the link. What I want to see is the all the transactions linked to the original transactions.  This is what I would normally do in MS access

1) Parse the comments field to give me the list of linked transactions

2) create a new table based on 1

3) link the original dataset using the table in point 2

4) only showing matched records

What's the best way of doing this in tableau.  I'm using tableau desktop 10.5.0

Many thanks

Conor

• 1. Re: Newbie needing some help on parsing and linking data
          Michael Gillespie

Conor, conceptually, what you want to do is this:

1) Create a new calculated field based on the column that contains the Linking ID.  You probably want to use the CONTAINS() function.

2) Use that new field to determine which rows in the data set are related to each other.

The hard part is figuring out exactly HOW to extract the Linking ID from the field that contains it.  Is it consistently formatted/consistent length/in a consistent place in the field?