3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2018 9:36 AM by Joanna Peng

Making Tables in Tableau and Issues with Data Manipulation

Joanna Peng

Hello Tableau Community! I’m an intern at Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center and am specifically employed by HVTN (HIV Vaccine Trials Network.) My project is to convert an excel style table into Tableau. I understand Tableau wasn’t traditionally made for table projects, but a major shareholder of our network likes simple tables rather than colorful graphs and visualizations. To introduce and ease our team into Tableau, we are committed to recreating our excel style tables using tableau while pairing them with a more modern visualization (also created by Tableau.) However, I’m having a frustrating time trying to input the data in an organized and efficient manner. I have attached a PDF that exhibits the type of data I’m working with and the format of the table I need to make. HVTN has different clinical trials that they practice, and these various clinical trials are known as protocols (the different protocols will occupy the first column in my table… As exhibited in the PDF.) Every week or so, new patients are introduced to these trials/protocols. For the second column of my table, I need to input the 1st week the clinical trial/protocol begins. The issue is that each protocol starts during a different week, month, or even year. Is there some way to write a calculated field that can extract the first date of each specific protocol so that all these dates are put in 1 orderly column (next to the Protocol column)? I’ve tried making a sheet for each individual protocol in which I filter all the protocol’s dates to find the first one. This way, I would have make an annoying number of sheets and then subsequently shove them onto a dashboard together. Doing it this way is annoying, time-consuming, and messy. I hope someone can share a simpler solution to my dilemma.