5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2018 11:08 AM by Zach Leber

work around for row level security AND still download workbooks?

Sarah Delaney

Bear in mind I'm an analyst, not a server admin when you read this...

Overview:

We are a central board with 34 separate colleges where each college can see  everyone else's summary data, but not individual student data.  Most of the data is only updated annually, but we do have some quarterly updates.There is a need to compare summary level such as a college’s graduation rates with another college’s rate.

Current State

I’ve been publishing to our Tableau server with the extract embedded and we’ve inserted the dashboards in website restricted to our colleges by IP address.  Colleges are actually gaining access by the guest account, but I’ve prevented web edit, save, save as and access to full data.  I have a lot of aliases in my workbooks which makes swapping data sources a pain unless you edit the xml.

Business Requirements

Colleges want to download my workbooks so they can build on what I have done. The colleges would also like access to their own student level data while still allowing summary level comparisons.  I don’t want to have to maintain multiple versions of the same workbook.

Research

I’ve viewed several security and permissions videos on the Tableau Admin Virtual User Group as well as

Tableau Report Security: For your Eyes Only by Dr. Sinji Yang  and administering-tableau-server-10-with-real-time-scenarios and I don’t think it is possible to do this  - at least not in a single workbook because any row level security would shut off the ability to do a comparison across colleges. Plus allowing the workbook to be saved would allow editing of the user filter so an row level security could be bypassed.

Rube Goldberg solution…

Keep current workbooks just as they are

Create a safe, dummy data set

Copy each of my workbooks into a separate project

Edit the XML to point the copy to the dummy data set