5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2018 3:57 AM by JP Kelly

Ranking in Stacked Bar Chart

JP Kelly

Hi All,

Complete Tableau novice here, battling with something which is probably (and hopefully) painfully obvious to the community and therefore easy to solve!

I'm making a stacked bar chart (see screenshot 1) and want to include the rank for each row (e.g. Ellis would be 1, Cavell would be 2, and so forth). I can do this using a RANK_DENSE calculation but it only works if it's a regular bar graph, i.e. without the additional details of "course" or "title/chapter/article" (see screenshot 2).

Hopefully I've provided enough info here - if not, ask away!

Thanks in advance

Screenshot 1:

Stacked Bar Chart Ranking.jpeg

Screenshot 2:

Bar Chart Ranking.jpeg

• 1. Re: Ranking in Stacked Bar Chart
          JP Kelly

Before anyone points this out, I've also just realised I should really be using RANK rather than RANK_DENSE...

• 2. Re: Ranking in Stacked Bar Chart
            Adam.Cogswell

Hi JP, check out my attached example. I used Index instead of Rank, and by right clicking on the Index pill, and clicking "edit table calculations", you can get some finer control. I set it to specific dimensions, checked both dimensions (the one on rows and the one on color), and then changed the "at the level" setting to be state. Hope this helps!

• 3. Re: Ranking in Stacked Bar Chart
              JP Kelly

Hi Adam,

Thanks for the reply - this has been a huge help! Using Index I'm (almost) able to get the desired results. I say almost, because index simply assigns a number to each row, rather than ranks each row(s). In the example below (where I've split the data into two categories: essential [orange] and recommended [green]) Ellis and Bordwell both have a total of 25. However, rather than both being ranked joint 2nd, with the subsequent entry being ranked 4th, they are simply indexed as 2nd and 3rd.

Bar Chart Index.jpeg