11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2018 8:40 AM by Don Wise

Best way to turn a series of dates into a single timeline?

doug funny

Hi all, I'm new to the data viz world, so this may be a dumb question.

I have a series of continuous dates (as in March 1978 - June 1981) that I'd like to gather together into a single timeline.

For example, let's say I was looking at guests staying at a motel in June, and the input data looked like this:

Guest NameStay Began on...Stay Ended on...
      Guest 1June 3June 15
      Guest 2June 9June 10
      Guest 3June 9June 19
      Guest 4June 22June 30
      Guest 5June 29June 30

I'm looking for a timeline of June, that just tracks the TOTAL number of guests on a particular day (x axis = date, y axis = number of guests in motel)

So the graph would look something like this:

Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 2.29.55 PM.png

What's the best way to accomplish this in Tableau?

Bonus question: let's say the guestbook included which country the guests were visiting from. Could I color-code those countries into the graph? Like if Guest 3 were from Spain, could I have part of the blue bar be Red for June 9 - 19? If this complicates things too much, no worries!

Thanks ahead of time for your help!

• 1. Re: Best way to turn a series of dates into a single timeline?
          Mahfooj Khan

Hi,

You need to transpose your date from columns to rows so that you can get all the date values in one field. There are several ways to transpose your data in tableau. I don't know which data source you're using. If you're using excel source then you can use Pivot option to transpose your data. See the screen shot. Select your date fields and choose pivot option from the down arrow.

You'll get this view

Now go to worksheet and create your viz. Use count/countd() function to get the count of guests

Hope this will help. Sample workbook v10.5 attached for your reference,

Mahfooj

• 2. Re: Best way to turn a series of dates into a single timeline?