4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2018 11:22 PM by jan.walischewski

Tableau SUM is worng

jan.walischewski

Hey Guys,

I'm new in Tableau and BI Software and started playing around. Everything is going well but i've created a sheet "Blatt 12" and Tableau is summing up my values incorrectly. Instead of a value of 49 i'm getting a value of 281,5. I'm using a filter to only display one type of values and then trying to sum these values up. I've added my package to this post. I've tried already some resulutions mentioned when you search for "tableau sum wrong" but nothing really helped out. Does anybody know what's the problem?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Tableau SUM is worng
          Alex Kerin

Jan, welcome to Tableau, and the forums.

Your issue is that you have multiple rows in your source for each bug ID. For example, Bug ID 3261 has four rows in the source, and therefore 4 rows that contribute to the sum of DurchlaufzeitBisResolvedHour.

I don't know how you want to fix this - whether you want to revisit your source (and the likely joins that created the multiple rows), use Tableau Prep to remove what you consider duplicates, or to fix this using calculations.

It's entirely possible to do this with calculations, but I suspect your other calculated fields have the same issue of being thrown off by multiple rows.

However, a fix for this could be a LOD calculation like:

{fixed [Bug Id]:min([DurchlaufzeitBisResolvedHour])}

This results in a sum of 39.5, instead of 281.5. Note this is still different than your 49 - probably because fixing DurchlaufzeitBisResolvedHour at the Bug ID level is wrong. Bug ID has different DurchlaufzeitBisResolvedHour values..

• 2. Re: Tableau SUM is worng
            jan.walischewski