7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2018 11:18 AM by Ken Flerlage

Parameter control to get Percent of total using a dimension and measure

Jeff Grant

On Sheet 9 -

Instead of 13 views of the map, I'd like one map based on the parameter selected that shows the details in all 13 maps. So if i select Arson, i just see the arson map with the color scheme darker for the higher percentages. Wracking my brain and I am fairly new to Tableau.

I know its a simple calculated field just not sure how.

Appreciate the help.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Parameter control to get Percent of total using a dimension and measure
          Ken Flerlage

If I understand you correctly, you don't need a parameter or a calculated field. You just need to remove Stat Cause Descr from the rows shelf, then add it to the filters area. Right-click on the pill then select "Show Filter". On the filter that appears, click the menu and change it to a "single value dropdown" menu. Also, click the menu, go to "Customize" then deselect the "Show "All" Value" option. This will give you a dropdown that allows you to select one and only one statistic.

You'll see that you now have an error on the SUM(Number of Records) pill defining your color.

So, remove that pill (delete it).

Then change the existing SUM(Number of Records) pill to define the color (just drag it up to the Color card).

I believe that should give you what you're looking for. See attached workbook.

If this resolves your question, then please mark this answer as the "correct answer." This will help others with similar problems in the future. If it does not resolve your question, then please let us know how else we can help. Thanks!

• 2. Re: Parameter control to get Percent of total using a dimension and measure
            Jeff Grant

Ken - thanks for the quick response. I'm new at this so probably not clear in my question.

What i would like to see is for example: