2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2018 4:20 AM by Jim Dehner

Can I use values in fixed statement?

Mayur Runwal

Can I use values in fixed statement? for example:

{ FIXED [Current Fiscal Quarter Flag],[Region]='AMS',[Deployment]='Production',[Users] = 'CAD + CAE'':SUM({ FIXED [Delivery Group]:MAX([DG Count])})}

I am new to Tableau. Is this right way to do it? Or can we do it in alternate / easy way?

• 1. Re: Can I use values in fixed statement?
          Jeevan Krishna

Hi Mayur,

Create a calculated field with all the conditions you have using and clause like this.

[Region]='AMS'

and

[Deployment]='Production'

and

[Users] = 'CAD + CAE'

This will result in a Boolean field. Use this filed instead of all the conditions you have included in the above question.

Apply this boolean field as a filter and select TRUE.

Hope this helps

• 2. Re: Can I use values in fixed statement?
            Jim Dehner

Good morning

The question - can you use values in an LOD - yes you can -

the calculation you created is a little complex but you could od it that way or your could put your conditional clauses after the colon:

But here is what is going on with the fixed LOD - Fixed creates combinations of all the dimensions that precede the colon and then aggregates them by what follows the colon - so if your statement was just 

[Fiscal Quarter],[Region]',[Deployment],[Users]: ...

the statement would make all the combinations of quarter, region, deployment, and users to create a higher level of data for your data - that level is not an aggregate in itself and can be used in all other types of calculation including other LODs or table - by specifying values for the dimensions tableau will calculate a single value - that's OK but not that useful for use in other calculations

A better approach is use the conditions as qualifiers in the next level of the calculation - it is also more efficient

Jim